Home     Site Map     Village Forum     Search     Help     About us

Home Churches Home Priory Home

West Door Font Area West End of Nave The Chancel Lady Chapel Sanctuary & Altar Willis Organ History Area Side Aisles Former Chapel Old College Hall

Sanctuary & Altar

<<<<< Previous ---- Next >>>>>

Altar

The altar was moved here from under the tower in 1867, when the chancel was restored by the Lumb family in memory of Maria Lumb whose memorial can be seen below. Again, the architect was William Butterfield. The stonework of the north window is medieval, whilst the south window is a restoration. All the glass is Victorian. In the east wall is a door inserted in the 1990s, which leads into the Old College Hall (not open to the public). The College Hall was the chancel of the monastic church and is a fine example of the "Early English" style. It became roof-less at the Dissolution of the Priory in 1539 but was restored in 1816 to become the St. Bees Theological College. Some idea of its grandeur can be seen from outside. The College closed in 1895 and this room is now used for parish functions. The Millennium tapestry behind the altar was embroidered by parishioners and dedicated in 2000 AD to mark the Millennium of Christ.Tomb of Maria Lumb

 

<<<<< Previous ---- Next >>>>>